Art Confessional Vomitorium: part IV

Well, here it is… the final installment of the Vomitorium.  Not much here, just a couple favored odds and ends I’d like to work on more:

This first is an illustration inspired by the reading of William Morris’ early fantasy novel “The Wood Beyond the World”.  And when I say “early”, I mean that this is probably the first ever proper fantasy novel or more accurately ‘proto-fantasy’; it was most likely the first book in a ‘novel’ style in history to meld characters in an imaginary land with the practice of magic and the supernatural, this being the general definition of “fantasy”. 

I had previously read a later book by Morris, “The Water of the Wondrous Isles”, and it affected me deeply.  I *WILL* do a portrait someday soon of its protagonist, the damsel Birdalone (is that an awesome name or what?) who… oh, it’s a long story.  Suffice to say that Birdalone is one of the earliest, awesomest heroines in novel history, IMHO. 

Then, having loved that book, I saw this (or rather a facsimile of this) at a bookstore:

 

BASK IN THE SWEETNESS!!!  BAAAAASK!!!  Books can look like that!  Okay, William Morris was incredible: he wrote this book, drew these pictures, formed that typeface, built a printing house (Kelmscott Press) and cranked awesome books like this out, and on the side he also made incredible tapestries and textiles, paintings, poetry and was the first astronaut.     …Oh, all right, he wasn’t an astronaut.  But all the other stuff is true.

The story in “The Wood” isn’t so great.  I’ll be honest.  And MAN was that text hard to read.  Very little punctuation or paragraph division, and some archaic letter forms made for a real brain-haul.  But I am a slave to prettiness, so I made it through.  And when I was done I drew a pretty girl with big, magic dogs.  Really ugly dogs, too.  Yick.

The second image is a big ugly fish head.  ……Still tryin’ to learn to “paint”, this time with a demo of OpenCanvas.  That’s a cool program!

The third is a Locathah from a series of portraits of some friends’ D&D characters I want to do.  I actually played D&D more than one time this last year, now that a bunch more nerds moved into our home since last spring.  I decided that I’m a bit too old to need to worry about being cool anymore (it’s always been a HUGE priority for me), so I can finally play Dungeons and Dragons if I dang well please.  I believe I’m up to about three full game nights so far!  My character’s a Lillend, which is a human from the waist up, a huge snake from the waist down, with huge, awesome bird-wings.  They are skilled musicians, and fly into a berserker rage whenever someone destroys a beautiful work of art or nature.  Word.  Oh, and they drink moonlight.  I wish I could drink moonlight.

AND NOW!!!  As promised in my last post, a sexy pinup of the Jesster from just before I cut my hair really short! 

This came about after finding a Photoshop tutorial on how to make a movie poster in the style of “300”.  My wife had no idea why she was asked to take the photo, but boy was she peasantly surprised when she found out.  There’re also some funny things in the credits, but mostly only if you know our past & present household.  Well, that wraps it up for the Art Confessional Vomitorium!  Now I can get down to actually producing finished things!

Soon: ‘Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell’ fan art!

Leave a Reply

