I’m thankful! For SQUIDWORMS!

Happy Thanksgiving, friends in Internetland!  Man, I tell ya– this is gonna be a great one, if things are already starting out this way!  If you want to please Jesse Gillespie, there are few things that win bigger than the discovery of a brand new lifeform right here on earth that qualifies as “alien-like”.  Meet the “squidworm”, recently uncovered by biologists involved in the global (and awesome) Census of Marine Life project.  When I first saw this photo, I was immediately reminded of the Old Ones from H. P. Lovecraft’s ‘At the Mountains of Madness’.  One of the best parts of this discovery was the addition in one article of a description of its main food source, marine snow, which is “a mix of sinking microscopic plants and animals, faecal material and cast-off mucus.”  Mmmm!  I’ll have what that guy’s having!

As a side note, the worm seems to bear some similarities to one of my other favorite not-quite-earth-animals, the “elbow squid” (magnapinna).  Not enough people know about this guy, and he’s in need of some serious cuddling:

Thank you, O Mighty Creator, for Your ultimate bizarreness.  And pie.

5 Responses to “I’m thankful! For SQUIDWORMS!”

  1. That’s a beauty! When clicked, the larger image gives a really nice amount of detail. I talked to a marine researcher from the Navy once and he told me that at the bottom of the ocean it looks like fine bright sand, but it’s really fish scales and a huge graveyard. I bet this guy loves it.

    • I have sometimes imagined what it would be like to live in a world where there are so many living things floating around for miles and miles above you, pooping and dying. I guess that’s why there are so many creatures which enjoy eating that stuff; ‘cuz then it’s a world of miraculous wonder, like when it rained donuts outside Homer Simposon’s house. Have you ever seen those videos of various things like hagfish and suckers and stuff eating a fallen whale corpse? It would be like an oil tanker made of chocolate and filled with bavarian creme dropped into your yard. I think you’re right that a squidworm lives in a perpetual wonderland of joy. Until you get eaten.

  2. I think I will stay a vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

